Thread holds it all together.

ThreadThread might seem like such a little thing (an afterthought, even), but using quality materials makes all the difference. If you’ve sewn larger projects before, you probably know what I’m talking about – it’s incredible how such a simple material can make such a difference. For Cotton & Flax projects, I use Gutermann’s natural cotton thread because it never seems to break or tangle while I’m sewing, and the colors are just phenomenal. This first photo shows a portion of my thread stash, built up over many years. It would be amazing to see all the empty spools I’ve used up over the years, part of me wishes I’d saved them all.

sewn basketI’ve experimented with lots of different types of thread, and I’ve built up a pretty little stash of it over the years. It’s nice having it around when I want to work on side projects, like this sewn rope bowl I made a couple weeks ago, inspired by Doug Johnston.

If you sew – do you have a favorite brand of thread? Any other materials or tools that you just can’t live without?

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thread holds it all together.

  1. Jeannie says:

    Yes, I do like Gutterman, but I use lots of Mettler’s Mercerized Cotton thread :) Then, I found out about a Netherlands company, Scanfil, that makes organic thread (yay), so I get my fix from Etsy. The quality of Scanfil’s thread is AWESOME, highly recommend. Pricier, of course, but it’s grown and made without pesticides.

    • erin dollar says:

      I’ll definitely have to check out Scanfil, I’ve been looking for a quality organic cotton thread forever! Thanks for the recommendation, Jeannie!

  2. anna says:

    love that pic! beautiful. Try out Aurifil!!! :)

  3. Pingback: 25 crafting apps you definitely need • A Subtle Revelry

Leave a comment