My favorite supplies and tools

I wanted to take some time to talk about the supplies and tools I use to create items for the Cotton & Flax shop. All artists and crafters develop their own affinities with different brands and types of supplies, and I wanted to share the ones that I turn to again and again.

Ink: Every pattern in the Cotton & Flax line begins as either an ink drawing, or a pattern that I’ve created with a hand-carved stamp. When I am creating an ink drawing, I always turn to my trusty green bottle of Yasutomo Black Sumi Ink. I love the consistancy of this brand of ink, and for whatever reason, it seem to always dry darker and sharper than other brands I’ve tried.


Sewing Machine: I use a Janome Travel Mate sewing machine to do much of the sewing for the Cotton & Flax shop. It may surprise you that I don’t have an industrial sewing machine setup, but I am quite attached to my Janome (notice the stickers and washi tape I’ve put on it?) and I can’t imagine getting rid of it anytime soon. It was a gift from my mom, and it’s the same model that she used to teach me how to sew when I was younger. Call me sentimental, but my Janome sewing machine has proven to be a resilient little workhorse.


Thread: I am a diehard supporter of Gutermann thread. It’s not the cheapest option, but I’ve found that it is much stronger than other brands I’ve tried. I love that they make a cotton thread, which helps get me just a little bit closer to making a fully sustainable product. Plus, it comes in an amazing rainbow of colors, who doesn’t love that?

To all you artists/makers out there: do you have a favorite supply or tool that you return to again and again?

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in DIY, Studio Tour, Work / Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My favorite supplies and tools

  1. Pingback: Thread holds it all together.

Leave a Reply

