Developing New Patterns

I’ve been working on some new patterns this week. This is one of my favorite parts of the process of making printed textiles, as I get to spend hours dreaming up new designs, and experimenting with inks and stamps and my favorite brushes and pens. Right now I’m working on creating larger versions of the many patterns I’ve sketched over the last few weeks, and I’m excited to see them come to life.

I create many (but not all) of my patterns by drawing directly onto tracing paper. I do this for a couple reasons, first, because I like to tape a piece of graph paper underneath, so that I can have a grid from which to work. While all of my textile patterns are hand drawn, I try to find ways to create patterns with some amount of regularity in spacing, and graph paper keeps me from getting wildly out of scale in my drawings. Secondly, I love being able to place the finished tracing paper patterns over a piece of unprinted fabric, and be able to get a glimpse at what the final product might look like.

I’m hoping to share a big batch of new patterns here on the blog in the coming week!

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Developing New Patterns

  1. Pingback: New Tea Towels in the Shop | Cotton & Flax

  2. Pingback: New Tea Towels in the Shop

Leave a comment