Wrapping Up an Order

Have I ever shown you how I package up my online orders? With the holiday season approaching, I’ve been looking for simple ways to make sure my items arrive at their destination safely, but also retain a special quality that will make you feel like you’re opening a gift. Obviously packaging things safely and securely is my number one concern (no one likes to receive a damaged item), but I also want my customers to enjoy the process of unwrapping their new item.

I’ve been guilty of leaving gift buying to the last minute, which is why I offer lots of different options for shipping. If you need something in a rush, just send me a message on Etsy, and I’ll get you upgraded to Priority Mail or Express Mail (and I can often send your items out just a few hours after you buy!)

There’s nothing worse than receiving something in the mail, and then having to discard a million packing peanuts, or those weird plastic air packets. I strive to use beautiful recyclable or reusable materials, and to be conscientious in how much material I am using to ship an item. I love to offer free gift wrapping to my customers, too! Upon request, I generally wrap all of my items in 100% recycled tissue paper, and then secure it with a patterned sticker (my own design!), a cute piece of washi tape, or cotton twine (see the first photo above). I can also include a thank you note, which is also made from recycled paper and decorated with my original designs.

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wrapping Up an Order

  1. I think it’s really important to show customers your packaging – it’s all part of the appeal! I did a similar blog post earlier this year on my packaging but your stunning photos have convinced me to re-do mine (I now use picmonkey – lifesaver!). Hmmm – another project to put on the list! Cath.

Leave a comment