How Cotton & Flax coasters are made

Cotton & Flax coastersWhen I sell my work in person, the coasters are always the most fondled item of the whole collection. Everyone seems to want to pick them up and touch them! I can’t say that I blame my customers for being curious, the thick wool felt I use really is appealing. Today, I thought it would be fun to take a peek into how Cotton & Flax coasters are made.

felt millCotton & Flax coasters begin their lives as raw wool, which is milled in Germany. The photo above shows the mill which processes the felt I use. Kind of picturesque, wouldn’t you say?

Felt Mill
Felt MillWool felt is one of the oldest man-made textiles. To produce felt, raw wool undergoes a wet “felting” process, which involves matting, condensing and pressing the fibers. You can see a little of the milling process below, I find those giant machines fascinating.

Felt yardageThe felt I use for Cotton & Flax coasters is high quality, eco-friendly, comes in highly saturated colors which are a perfect canvas for my bold patterns. The high standards for fabric dyeing in Germany make this felt safe for everyday use in your home, and safe for the Earth! I order several yards of this luxuriously thick felt at a time, and then hand silkscreen print my patterns onto the felt before cutting it down to size.

Cotton & Flax printingCotton & Flax coaster assembly

So there you have it, a glimpse into how Cotton & Flax coasters are made. You can find lots of fun patterned coasters in the shop, grab a couple sets for your next cocktail party!

Cotton & Flax coasters

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How Cotton & Flax coasters are made

  1. love this – the photographs of the process make it all the more beautiful, too. i wonder if you could work that into the packaging?

  2. I just received my coasters in the mail from you a few days ago, and they’re even better looking in person! Thanks so much, and this post is especially great, to know a little bit more on how they’re made :)

  3. Pingback: Why wool felt coasters beat ceramic coasters (the answer may surprise you!) | Cotton & Flax

  4. Pingback: Why wool felt coasters beat ceramic coasters (the answer may surprise you!)

Leave a Reply

