Thoughts on Postcards

blog postcardsI was very excited to see that Cotton & Flax was featured on Door Sixteen yesterday, I’m so happy to count Anna as a fan of my work. She mentioned something in her post that made me think, and that I hadn’t been able to articulate before.

“I used to send postcards out all the time because they’re so low-hassle: Cheap stamp, no envelope, small space = fast writing, not to mention the fact that anyone can and will read the back keeps me from saying anything too dumb. I don’t know why I stopped, but I need to order a couple of packs — because who doesn’t like to get a little real mail every now and then?”

As an avid letter-writer, I forget that any snail mail that shows up in my mailbox is a surprise and a treasure, as long as it’s not a bill. While many people think of snail mail as taking the time to write a newsy letter, full of long stories and gossip, a simple postcard can make a big impact too. Sending a postcard is such a simple gesture, and knowing that someone is thinking of you and sent over a quick hello never fails to make me feel appreciated.

pink postcard from Cotton & FlaxIf you feel intimidated or overwhelmed by the idea of sending snail mail, or even having a pen-pal, sending a simple postcard is a great first step.

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

