Name that color!

gold brushstroke pillow - Cotton & Flax

I have been spending some time today working on my product descriptions over in the shop, and I keep stumbling over how to describe this fabric color. It’s such a beautiful fabric, and has consistently been one of my best sellers, but my customers all seem to describe it differently. Some say it’s a mustard color, some say olive… all I can say for sure is that it’s a gorgeously saturated yellow-green.

Cotton & Flax pillows

How about it, readers? Feel like giving me some suggestions on what to call this color?

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Name that color!

  1. kathleen says:

    I feel like “grellow” would be pretty accurate (a la Young House Love), but it’s not very searchable :-)

  2. Darlene Koenig says:

    I thought of that, too (another YHL reader). Besides, “grellow pillow” is fun to say. I thought of olivine.

  3. Ashley says:

    Charlie Brown/Peanuts Yellow :)

  4. Emily says:

    ‘Curried banana’. However, my stomach has just turned whilst typing that, so it’s probably not such a good idea!

  5. slpstanley says:

    i’m going with mustard seed….mustard is such a drab word, but mustard seed is accurate i think…or at least sounds better!

  6. Hi, I’m new to your blog, love your work!!!! I think it is kind of the color of olive oil. I would name it olive oil. I also like think curry fits well too!

Leave a Reply

