Snail Mail Saturday – Vintage Postcard Backs

While going through my vintage postcard collection recently, I noticed something. I was fascinated by the design of the writing side of the postcards. The fonts are so unique, and the written descriptions on the back vary so greatly, anywhere from a single line of text to a long paragraph description of the scene on the front.

Similar to my collection of security envelopes, I find myself wondering, who was responsible for designing these things? Who picked the fonts? Who wrote the copy? Are there still many people who do this particular job? I’ll have to do more research on this topic…
Don’t forget: I’ll be selling at Renegade Holiday Fair in San Francisco today and tomorrow, so stop by and say hello if you live nearby!

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Snail Mail and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

