Weekend in San Francisco

Took a quick trip up to San Francisco this weekend; very brief, but packed full of activity. I was particularly excited to visit SF MOMA to see the Cindy Sherman show, which was wonderful. After perusing her retrospective, I found myself wandering through the other galleries, and feeling drawn towards pieces where the artist used very wild, frantic mark making techniques. I captured small samples of two of my favorites, the one on the left is by Julie Mehretu, and on the right is Cy Twombly. I hope to harness some of this loose and excitable energy in my new textile prints, and I feel inspired to return to my work with fresh eyes this week.

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Work / Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

