Fabric Shopping in Downtown Los Angeles

I have only been living in Los Angeles for a little less than two years, so I still feel like a newbie in a lot of ways. Back in Portland (where I grew up, and lived before I moved to LA), I had a handful of favorite fabric stores that I’d frequent on a regular basis. After moving to LA, it has taken me quite a while to find my favorite spots, and I still feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface of what LA has to offer.

A couple weeks ago, Keiko of Small Adventure invited me to go explore the fabric district in downtown LA, and I gladly said yes! Michael Levine, one of my favorite fabric shops is located down there, but Keiko showed me around to a couple other of her favorite spots as well. I have to say, though, that Michael Levine is still my favorite in the fabric district. I’ll always stop in just to gawk at the beautiful Liberty of London printed fabrics they keep in a display case… so beautiful, but so expensive.

Here are a few swatches I grabbed while I was shopping, I’m trying to develop an idea of my color palette for my newer designs, excited to branch out into some bright colors (maybe even a neon!) A question for you local readers: got any good Los Angeles fabric store recommendations?

About Erin Dollar

Owner, maker, and designer behind Cotton & Flax. Since 2010, she has been creating modern screenprinted home goods, as well as fine art prints on paper, from her home studio in Los Angeles, California.
This entry was posted in Los Angeles, Work / Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fabric Shopping in Downtown Los Angeles

  1. Pingback: Cotton & Flax visits Common Thread Studio | Cotton & Flax

Leave a Reply

